Chinese Transit Visa – More Cities Ready To Be Explored

China's G-Visa, the 144 hour transit visa, is about to see some great new destinations added to its list. As of December 1st 2019, the total number of cities and areas you are able to visit with a Chinese transit visa will include more than 20 destinations. The latest additions will allow tourists transiting through China to enjoy some of it's many wonders including the Terracotta Warriors and a hot spot for seeing pandas in their natural habitat.

What We’ll Cover

  • What a Chinese transit visa is

  • Where you can obtain a transit visa on arrival

  • What you’ll need to apply for one

  • How to know if you’re eligible

If you are transiting through China to an onward destination, you could qualify for a G-Visa. This will allow you to leave the airport and stay in China before you complete your trip. With the aim of attracting more tourists to it’s array of unique sites, the scheme has proved extremely popular for this global transit hub.

Where can the 144 hour G-Visa be issued?

The main areas and provinces covered by the 144 hour G-Visa are as follows:

  • Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang Area
  • Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei Area
  • Guangdong Province
  • Liaoning Province
  • Chengdu (extended in December 2019 to include 10 additional prefectures)
  • Xiamen
  • Kunming
  • Wuhan
  • Qingdao
  • Chongqing (previously 72 hour – due to be extended to 144 hour)
  • Xi’an (previously 72 hour – due to be extended to 144 hour)

The expansion of transit visa offerings aims to encompass even more of China’s world-famous wonders. Xi’an is home to the site of the Terracotta Warriors and attracts more than 1 million tourists per year. Chengdu area will also be expanded to encompass an additional 10 prefectures, allowing tourists to visit the amazing Panda Centre in Sichuan, to where they are native.

How do I get a G-Visa?


To be granted a G-Visa on arrival you will need to have hard copies of your travel itinerary and be able to show proof of your tickets booked for onward travel from China. There are other transit visas available if you are not intending to stay for 6 days, which will be issued to you as applicable. Even if you are issued with a visa for 144 hours, you can still leave the country before this if you wish.

How do I know if I’m eligible to apply for a Chinese transit visa?

It’s extremely important that you’re aware of the restrictions on the transit visa scheme. They can not be used in place of a tourist visa if you don’t intend to travel on to another third destination before travelling home (this could include Hong Kong or Macau) and only nationals of certain countries can apply for them. You also need to be aware of staying within the areas you have been granted access to and that you depart from one of the air or seaports authorised by your visa type.

To see the full list of Chinese transit visas and the guidelines around using one, see our previous blog post here.

key takeaways

Key Takeaways

The Chinese transit visa, or G Visa, is a great way of getting some extra exploration in if you’re passing through China on your journey. You will need to make sure you have the paperwork you’ll require to apply for the transit visa printed and ready to present at the desk. It’s imperative you familiarise yourself with the restrictions of your G Visa to avoid any fines or travel restrictions if you happen to break the rules and travel out of area, or over-stay your entry term.

Declan Ramsden
Declan Ramsden

Declan is a Content Creator at Vital Consular. He studied English Literature for 4 years before joining the company. Outside of work, he enjoys listening to retro music and reading classic novels – particularly Charles Dickens!

Articles: 37

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *